You Are Viewing: Home > Awards


Science & Technology Awards

The Rubber Division's Science & Technology Awards are the most prestigious awards available to rubber professionals. 


Rubber Division, ACS, local Rubber Groups, the American Chemical Society, and industry companies recognize and support the need for financial assistance in obtaining a college degree. With this in mind, there are many scholarships available for those students who wish to pursue a degree in rubber technology, polymer science or the chemical profession.

Best Paper Awards

In 1955, the Rubber Division, ACS created a Best Paper Committee with the objective to improve the quality of technical presentations by evaluating and publicly recognizing outstanding presentations. This award recognizes those individuals authoring and presenting papers at Division meetings. Each award consists of a plaque and recognition at the Business & Awards meeting.

Selections for these awards are made by the Best Paper Committee on the recommendation of a number of peer judges who review the individual papers and attend the technical sessions. Clarity of presentation and significance of technical content are of prime importance to the judges. 

Download the Best Paper Awards Winners List (1955-2014) here.

International Rubber Science Hall of Fame

The symposium is held annually in the fall semester. The Maurice Morton Institute of Polymer Science at The University of Akron and the Rubber Division of the American Chemical Society are cosponsors of The International Rubber Science Hall of Fame symposium and installation.

The symposium consists of invited lecturers in rubber research and is in honor of the selected inductee.

Download the IRSHF Brochure from October 2008 here.